Crescent moon

Tell me, crescent moon,

the times I’ve written a letter under your light.

Tell me, crescent moon,

the papers you’ve seen burn.

 

Only you know the times I’ve cried,

because words aren’t enough to tell what I feel.

Only you know the times I’ve looked up to the sky,

thinking if someday my dream will come true.

 

I’m sorry, crescent moon, if I’ve wasted my tears,

flooding my bedroom in the darkness.

I’m very sorry, if I haven’t listened to your advices

and I’ve made the same mistakes over and over again.

 

Please, crescent moon, wherever he is,

protect him and illuminate his path with your light.

Please, crescent moon, I beg you,

never leave him alone.

Keep him under your gaze forever because,

even though I’m not with him, I’ll keep thinking of him everyday and night.

 

I promise, crescent moon, I’ll be more sensible.

I’ll take into account your advices,

and listen to your lessons.

I promise, crescent moon, I’ll keep my secrets,

and I’ll just share them with you,

since you are always watching me.

 

Thank you, crescent moon,

because although I can’t see you every night,

I can see you in his eyes.

Thank you, for looking after me,

for taking care of every step I take.

 

And I want to give you special thanks,

my dear crescent moon,

for allowing me to meet him once.

It would be a pleasure for me to meet him twice.

3 thoughts on “Crescent moon

Leave a Reply

